Nationwide Federal Criminal Defense Call (213) 542-0994 - Absolute Privacy

Main Menu

The State of North Dakota has only one Federal District, the District of North Dakota.

Article 3 Judges preside in two locations: Bismarck, ND (state capital) and Fargo, ND (the most populous city in the state). There additional satellite court locations in Minot, ND and Grand Forks, ND.

Bismarck address: William L. Guy Federal Bldg., U.S. Courthouse, 220 East Rosser Ave. #476, Bismarck ND 58502-1193

Fargo address: Quentin N. Burdick, U.S. Courthouse, 655 1st Ave. North, #130, Fargo ND 58102-4932

Judge Daniel Hovland presides in Bismarck and handles the cases for the western part of the state.

The Magistrate serving the Bismarck location is Magistrate Charles S. Miller, Jr.

Judge Ralph Erikson, presided over the Fargo location, handling the cases arising east of Bismarck, before being elevated to the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals by President Trump.

The Fargo bench is currently vacant.

The Magistrate serving the Fargo location is Magistrate Judge Alice R. Senechal.

Judge Hovland has four law clerks. Magistrate Miller has two law clerks. Magistrate Senechal has two law clerks.

The court was created in 1889 when the Dakotas were divided into two separate states. A second judgeship was created in 1954, and the Court has had two Article 3 judges since then.

The US Attorney’s Office for the District of North Dakota is headquartered in Fargo, ND but there is a staffed branch office is located in Bismarck, ND. Unstaffed branch offices are located in Grand Forks, ND and Minot, ND.

The US Attorney serving the District of North Dakota is Christopher C. Myers.

US Attorney’s Office addresses:

  • Quentin N. Burdick United States Courthouse, U.S. Attorney’s Office, 655 First Avenue North, Suite 250, Fargo, ND 58102-4932
  • William L. Guy Federal Building, U.S. Attorney’s Office, 220 East Rosser Ave, Room 372, Bismarck, ND 58502-0699

The Federal Public Defender for the District of North Dakota is Neil Fulton. He jointly serves the District of South Dakota.

The Federal Public Defender’s Office has branch offices in Bismarck, ND and Grand Forks, ND.

Four Indian reservations are located in the District: Spirit Lake, Fort Berthold, Standing Rock, and Turtle Mountain.

Federal Public Defender’s Office addresses:

  • Federal Plaza, 324 North 3rd Street, Suite 1, Bismarck, ND 58501
  • Federal Square, Second Floor, 112 Roberts Street North, Suite 200, Fargo, ND 58102

The District of North Dakota has one bankruptcy court located in Fargo, ND.

Bankruptcy court address: Quentin N. Burdick United States Courthouse, 655 1st Ave North, Suite 210, Fargo, ND 58102

Chief Judge Shon Hastings, is the United States Bankruptcy Judge for the District of North Dakota.

For more information on Information On North Dakota Federal Courts, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (213) 542-0994.